Week 2 was about seeds, seeds saving, seedling replanting, planting new seeds. There are so many options in the gardening world. I guess this is a good thing. For me, I think planting something simple will be good, so maybe beets and lettuce. I am also germinating seeds for fuyu persimmons that were given to my mom for a church member.  

As I read up on seeds, I have started “Heirloom Vegetable Gardening,” a book recommended by Teachrer David. A quote that stands out from the introduction is the following: “the greatest service which can be rendered any country is to add an useful plant to it’s culture; especially a bread grain. next in value to bread, is oil.”
– Thomas Jefferson Memorandum of Services to My Country, after 2 September 1800.

 

This goes to the idea of “seed saving.” The idea is to bring back to the public the vast variety of plants, fruits and vegetables. For snack during WEEK 2 class,  Teacher David gave us two kinds of grilled squash (with blue cheese and pecans), in sampling these two, he illustrated the benefits of having a variety to choose from.  I’m not sure how I will l serve my country/city, but I have started the process.

 

