In my attempt to thoroughly investigate a potential career in urban agriculture, I enrolled in a Saturday class with the UC Master Gardener program. So in addition to Sunday classes with UCLA Extension, I will learn more basic gardening skills in a community garden. I wanted to participate in a community garden because this is a great way to have direct impact in improving a neighborhood.

20131029-201954.jpg
So far this class has provided alternative methods for planting seeds in a six-pack container (wet the soil first) and carrots (lightly cover seeds with dirt). In addition, we explored creating raised beds (without wooden boards) for seed planting. I was given homework of planting lettuce seedlings and bean seeds at home. I have planted them and can’t wait to see them grow.

20131029-201836.jpg

Rain is expected this week, so hopefully the extra water will benefit my garden.

