It was overcast on Sunday, making it a kind of gloomy garden day. Nonetheless, it was a joyful day for tiny green leaves broke through the soil. Last week I planted collard greens directly into the soil (which Teacher David said was incorrect. I should have done seedlings prior to soil planting.) This week the collard greens started its long journey to maturity. I wasn’t sure if they were weeds, but after seeing the same tiny leaves in my backyard, I know they are collard greens. I planted more items, including garlic, which I also planted at home. My lettuce seedling changed colors (reddish). Overall, I think my first plot is coming along well. My French classmate has created a beautiful landscape in her plot; for my second season, I will think about my garden as edible landscape.

20131029-200214.jpg

