This week I had several problems with transplanting.
#1. I transplanted my red Swiss chard out of a large tin can to individual paper pot cups. It was pretty easy. But they are not growing. Last week(Week 9), I planted them directly in the ground. I think in the future I will plant directly in the ground, unless I learn a better technique for transplanting during Week 10.

20131208-073448.jpg
#2. Lettuce — I learned that some plants experience a shock when being transplanted. Teacher Kim suggested I put the lettuce in the shade instead of giving it a large amount of sunlight instantly. Upon moving it an area that received about 3-4hours of sunlihht( instead of 7-8 hours) the lettuce showed life again.

20131208-073807.jpg
#3. Cabbage Moth on Kale. From the community garden came an extra gift– transplanting of bugs. After showing Teacher Kim my kale leaves’ holes, she told me to search for bugs. And sure enough there were little yellow-green circle underneath the leaves. After a Google search, I realized they were cabbage moths. All the bloggers said to kill them, which surprised me these bloggers couldn’t provided an alternative to death. I removed the leaves, and nothing has grown back.

20131208-074303.jpg
Lesson Learned: #1. Planting in the ground may take a little longer, but it’s a good option if transplanting is problematic. #2. Plants have shock to being moved, so be prepared. #3 Companion plants can be a good pest control in gardens.

