What did I learn during my 10 week class? #1. There is a need for more beekeeping and perhaps I will look into doing some hobby beekeeping. #2. Butter lettuce and Yugoslavia red lettuce are good lettuce varieties to plant. #3. Gardening is a learning process that anyone can participate in. #3. It may be cool to shop at farmers market but there’s a lot of work that goes into growing the produce that is sold there. #4: I need to research how to organize a garden for landscaping artistic beauty and for companion planting. #5. An African-American heritage garden would be a great contribution to my community and it would also help to teach more African-Americans about our cultural history and improve our view of farming today because fresh and cheap produce is needed in our urban communities.

 

