Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Sunday market in Loja, Ecuador, spoiled me something bad. After church, I would walk through the center of town and pick some of the best mangos, small red bananas, papayas, and more. I would buy fresh flowers, fresh aliño (popular seasoning), and the newspaper. The street market was huge and had more than I knew I what to do with in the kitchen. But in Urcuqui, picking is slim. I mean, like aren’t we out in the countryside, so shouldn’t there be a huge selection from local farmers?

But I’m about that life of happiness and simplicity, so I making Urcuqui work 🙂 After buying my produce, I sat in the plaza and skimmed the Sunday paper. Next time, I will walk back home and document a walk in Northern Ecuador as I did a walk in Nankoku, a rural area in southern Japan where I lived and taught for two years.

What I got from the very small mercado in Urcuqui (minus the huevos/eggs)

What I got from the very small mercado in Urcuqui (minus the huevos/eggs)

Haven't had Panela in years. And those months of popping popcorn on the stove is about to come in handy, Nesi/Anita.

E Haven’t had Panela in years. And those months of popping popcorn on the stove is about to come in handy, Nesi/Anita.

It's a starting place for seasoning/spices. Hoping to make chai here, ojala.

It’s a starting place for seasoning/spices. Hoping to make chai here, ojala.

Oatmeal, sugar,and flour. $1 for 2lbs

Oatmeal, sugar,and flour. $1 for 2lbs

Real organic food

Real organic food

