Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

IMG_1467

So on Friday morning, I shared chai mixtures that I have been working on since moving to Ecuador this fall. My fellow English teachers were kind enough to sample the drinks and give me feedback. What I learned was that they all enjoyed the SuperMaxi (store-bought) chai tea bags more than my homemade drinks. Joke on me–spending all that time trying to figure out ingredients and measurements when I just needed to figure out how many tea bags to add to make it strong enough, lol. La vida es una cosa loca a veces.

So here is my recipe for Chai del Pueblo, chai that most people will like.

IMG_1469

Chai del Pueblo

13 tea bags of Horniman’s Chai (number of bags will differ depending on Chai brand)

3 cups of water

1 cup of milk (whatever kind you like)

4 teaspoons of brown sugar

1-3 teaspoons of white sugar

Bring water and tea bags to a boil. Reduce heat to medium and then add milk and sugar. Cook for 5-10 minute. Turn of fire, but keep pot with lid on stove top for at least 20 minutes. Serve warm in your favorite mug/tea cup.

IMG_1471

