Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Having a Cali flag in a Cool Cali is very necessary.

Having a Cali flag in a Cool Cali is very necessary.

I knew starting a business would be challenging, but I somewhat expected most of the challenges to arrive after the doors were fully opened, but life isn’t like that. You know, things can’t be predicted really accurately.

Since returning to Ecuador from my mini-trip home to Cali (where most people were super positive and supportive of my tea shop venture), I have been putting along the road to the opening of California Tea Houses. There’s the legal stuff, which has become a huge bump. There’s where to buy furniture and where to find a carpenter to make a bar. What to do if my landlord somehow “can’t” install a sink inside the cafe. And the list goes on.

Books from my world travels and books about Cali. My favorite title, "California Fruits, Flakes, and Nuts: True Tales of California Crazies, Crackpots and Creeps." (My mom didn't see the humor in the title.)

Books from my world travels and books about Cali. My favorite title, “California Fruits, Flakes, and Nuts: True Tales of California Crazies, Crackpots and Creeps.” (My mom didn’t see the humor in the title.)

Some moments feel heavy and overwhelming. I wonder, “Am I really doing this?” Other moments give way to me reminding myself of the inner-power one has and can tap into. Then I read or watch stuff about small business owners and the tea industry.

Not sure if I will incorporate these items into the cafe or my apt.

Not sure if I will incorporate these items into the cafe or my apt.

So, as I reboot for another weekend of cafe prepping — shopping for furniture, testing out my cup cake maker, creating my vertical garden, organizing the first two art exhibits– I know I need to focus on what I can do, which is a whole lot.

Opening a business in a foreign country is like dating — a game of “espera no mas.” (which reminds me I need to edit my “pop song” novel this weekend, too.)

Prints for an upcoming art exhibit. Crazy to think I will be determining what is "art." Also, teas, woodart from Santa Monic/3rd Street, and tons of cups/glasses.

Prints for an upcoming art exhibit. Crazy to think I will be determining what is “art.” Also, teas, woodart from Santa Monic/3rd Street, and tons of cups/glasses.

