jessicasabogal-womenareperfect-1I’m often laughed at. Directly in my face, so there is no error in my misinterpretation of the situation. I know my assertiveness and blunt speech goes against what a traditional woman should be, but I’m from L.A. and we Californians are a different breed as seen with our governor ready to take on our new president.

But what I do expect is respect as a business person when conducting business transitions. I’m a professional and try my hardest to behave like one. I ask clear questions in hope of getting clear answers, but sometimes this isn’t the case all the times. Sometimes my gender is a hindrance to equal treatment in the business world.

I told my landlord’s father & handyman that there were problems at my location, specifically with the electric outlets in the walls. They didn’t listen to me. They stared at me, baffled by gringo-accented Spanish words. Then they laughed at me. As usual, I tried to cover up my frustration and hurt feeling by mocking myself, “Gringa Loca, si?” It was a way to lighten the mood that my questioning of things often created. However, my  two-month-old refrigerator doesn’t work because the electric outlet has a problem, a problem that I pointed out to them and they dismissed it. They said I only needed to change the face of the outlet nothing more. But I knew there was a problem. Now I have to pay out of pocket to repair my new refrigerator.

What does this situation teach me? I don’t know. Maybe I need to find a new approach to deal with the sexism I encounter. I want and deserve some degree  of respect as member of this society as I do pay taxes, employee local people and offer a service to the tourists (this is a touristy city). Maybe more learning from successful female entrepreneurs is needed.  Also, no more mocking of self. Say what I mean and stick by it.jessicasabogal-womenareperfect-1

